top of page
Search
  • fricanotaylor

Big Girls Gotta Eat: Brno Edition

If you know me at all, you absolutely must know that I love to eat. I'm a big girl, I gotta eat to sustain all 193cm/6 feet 4 inches of me. Naturally, I've found some absolutely incredible food places to eat at here in the second largest city in the Czech Republic. However, unnaturally, I've been able to wait the .5 seconds it takes to snap a quick picture of my food before I inhale it.


 

Breakfast


Eggs Benedict
Cafe Placzek

Cafe Placzek

- Super great coffee, cute little atmosphere, and some amazing eggs Benedict. I mean, just look at that. Seriously? They also had a lavender coffee that was interesting but also delicious. Another menu item was titled "cookies coffee" and that 100% did not disappoint. Blueberry french toast, eggs with bacon, oatmeal with coconut and chocolate, this place had it all.











Brunche's

- This is without a doubt my all time favorite pancake place in the entire world. Nothing will beat this place. They have Oreo pancakes (left), red velvet pancakes (right), pancakes with bacon, pancakes with bacon and fruit and avocado, pancakes with salted carmel, it's pancake heaven. If the title "International House of Pancakes" was taken more seriously this place would hold that title without competition.



Bistro Franz

- A tiny cafe just outside of the city center, Bistro Franz was a classic, timeless addition to my breakfast list. Every breakfast dish has a salad with a honey dijon mustard dressing that is to die for. On top of that, their bread is incredibly fresh, soft and had the perfect amount of crunch to it. Buttery eggs and crispy bacon to top it all off and they've got a recipe for a clean plate. Seriously. Not a single scrap of food was left on my plate. Also, big fan of the cappuccinos.






 

Lunch


Mr. Sushito

- Although labeled as "fast food", this place is quality. They have sushi burritos, sushi bowls, and just regular sushi. Their seaweed salad is to die for, while their spicy mayo isn't far from perfection. I was a huge fan of their grilled salmon bowl (pictured) which included: cucumbers, red cabbage, avocado, grilled salmon, white sticky rice on the bottom, seaweed salad, arugula, salsa, sesame seeds and a spicy mayo over the top. I love poke and sushi bowls and this was one of the best I've ever had.







Faency Fries

- This is more of a snack than a lunch but W O W. Let me tell you, no fries compare. While I'm a big sweet potato fry gal myself, I would choose these bad boys over them any day. First, they are crispy and delicious, with some tender fries just hiding around for a good ole' switch up. Second, they blow torch the cheese (if you want it) so it chars a bit and melts right where you want it without any issues. Third, they have a huge variety of sauces for you to choose from. They have an original sauce which they make everyday. It's a kind of thousand island, kicking' mayo with a bit of pepper. Hard to describe, hard to stop eating. They have spicy ketchups, to cheesy sauces, to ranch varieties. All great options, with vegan assortments as well (heck yeah, environment!). Last, and this is my favorite part, the packaging. As you can see in the picture, the cone shape holds your fries for you while they have a built in dipping sauce cup right on top. *Chandler Bing Voice* Could this be anymore convenient?



 

Dinner


Forky's

- A place that will forever hold a spot in my heart, Forky's is a vegan bar/restaurant that took all if not most of my salary each month. Their black bean/red lentil vegan burger is the best vegan burger I have ever had. Simple, yet wonderful, it comes with butter lettuce, tomato, vegan BBQ sauce, pickles, and onion. If you've read this entire post, you'd also know how much of a sweet potato fry girl I am, which is why you can see that I didn't skip out on those. How were they? Crisped to perfection, with a taste you'd want as your final meal. Finally, their smoothies. Pictured is their strawberry, date, almond, vanilla, cinnamon smoothie. The best part? Tiny, sweet bites of date at the bottom of the smoothie. Honestly, will miss this place the most I think.


Trippoli

- An Italian chain, Tripoli became a staple when going out to eat in Brno. Their menu offered a variety of simple pasta dishes when you just wanted some good 'ole carbs. From spaghetti, to chicken alfredo, to a tomato and basil angel hair dish, you could find anything you needed there. Affordable and yummy, I'd have their tiramisu anyway of the week (if not everyday)


Nok Nok

- Unfortunately, we didn't get to truly eat dinner at Nok Nok due to the fact that I ordered an appetizer (cheese plate featured) that said it was for two people (my mother and I) and as you can see, this cheese plate was for a family of 4 if not 5. However, I'm not mad about it. This cheese plate was to die for. From the farms of eastern Europe came vairites of pepper jack, brie, gouda, and more. Seasoned with what seemed like the perfect blend of my hopes and dreams, we could not stop from inhaling an immense and unhealthy amount of dairy. We payed for it dearly, but it was worth it.




Statl

- A traditional Czech restaurant, it had everything Czech you could ask for. That includes, types of schnitzel, multiple types of potatoes, and cabbage. And guess what? That's all you need! Featured is pork schnitzel with boiled potatoes and a white cabbage medley. Not shown is their infamous pilsner urquell beer that I drank like water. Quality beer, quality carbs. This girl was as happy as a clam.









 

Dessert


Donuts

- I would have never said that I'm a donut girl, until I tried donuts from the Czech. The left image is a nutella hazelnut donut from La Donuteria, while the right image is the best place I tried in the whole wide world, Vegan Sweet Bar. The Vegan Sweet Bar is, obviously, vegan. Their donuts are the best donuts I have ever had, vegan or not. They were fluffy, not overly sweet, and massive. The black donut was a poppy seed creation, while the one next to it was a salted carmel donut. Not featured (because I couldn't wait long enough to take a picture of it) is my all time favorite, the pistachio donut. I would travel back to Brno solely to get another one of these donuts again.



Le Vafle

- Only got to try this beauty once, but a big fan. Gourmet waffles with nutella, whipped cream, fresh fruit, and ice cream, you leave this place with your arteries just a little harder. A dentist's worst nightmare, this place is a dream come true for any sweet tooth/breakfast enthusiast.

















Kofi Kofi

- The first european coffee experience my mother and I had holds a special place in my heart. Kofi Kofi was not a place, instead it was multiple coffee carts located at multiple locations around the city. Another place that took more money from me than I would've liked, I couldn't get enough. My go-to's included a large soy latte with coconut and their regular cappuccino. Coming from the USA, we know Starbucks and bad black coffee that needs both cream and sugar. To my surprise, this coffee didn't need cream, it didn't even need sugar. The milk was enough. What a beautiful thing, don't you think?


18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page